My Go-To Guac

I. Love. Guac. I even have a sweatshirt with a giant avocado on it, so yeah. Since I make guacamole a lot, I decided to make a guide to my go-to guac! Most of the ingredients can be easy subbed out for others due to allergies or preferences. Once my sister and I had a guacamole-making competition, I wish I could say I won but alas, we tied. Needless to say, guacamole is not only a summer staple, but a lifestyle…hehehe. Let’s eat!

INGREDIENTS

1 avocado

the juice and zest of half a lime

2 tbsp chopped sweet onion

1 tbsp cilantro

sea salt

chips for dipping

1 tbsp salsa (optional)

 

PREPARATION

Step 1: Cut the avocado in half and scoop out the flesh into a bowl. Mash the avocado, but keep in mind that as you mix in the other ingredients it will become less chunky.

avocadomashed

Step 2: Chop the cilantro finely (I used a little bit of basil here because I didn’t have any cilantro *sad face*). Chop the onion finely because getting a mouthful of onion is a little nasty. Before you juice the lime, use a zester (if you don’t have a zester, then you can use a vegetable peeler or cheese grater and then chop it smaller with a knife) to zest the outer layer of the lime skin. This adds even more fresh lime flavor.

ingredients

Step 3: Add all the ingredients and the sea salt (unless you are using very salty chips like Tostitos) and mix well (again with the mouthful of onion). Sometimes I like to add salsa because I’m lazy and don’t want to chop a tomato and because the seasoning in salsa pairs very well with the guac spices.

finishedguac

 

Leave a Reply

